Performancing Metrics

5.14.2012

Among Ash-Heaps and Millionaires


As a little girl, I really wasn't one for playing dress up. It may be surprising, especially since I'm a style blogger, but I don't remember it being my thing (or was it, Mom?). However, I didn't hesitate last weekend, when my friend and fellow blogger Noelani invited me to take part in a photo shoot for mStarr Event Styling and Design - a Great Gatsby themed wedding shoot, no less. Let's just say I made up for lost time in the dress up department.

With a mix of George Michael and French crooners on the iPod, Lani, Michele and I giggled our way through hair and makeup and ooohed and aaahed our way through costuming. The only time we were quiet? When the moment came to indulge in some decadant lavender and honey macaroons. Shot by Boston wedding photographer Kelly Dillon, this was seriously grown-up dress up!

See more of the shoot on Style Me Pretty...








-->
ON LANI (www.mpchouchou.com): DRESS: Diane von Furstenberg SHOES: (Lani's own) HEADBAND: Untamed Petals
ON THE BOSTON FASHIONISTA: DRESS: Zac Posen SHOES: (my own) vintage Bottega Veneta STOLE: (my own) purchased on vacation in Peru JEWELRY: Bloomingdale's
ON MICHELE (michelemuses.blogspot.com): DRESS: Michael DePaulo SHOES: (Michele's own) SASH: VenusBridal JEWELRY: Bloomingdale's HAIR PIECE: Untamed Petals
EVENT STYLIST + PLANNER: Emily Starr Alfano of mStarr event styling + design (www.mstarreventdesign.com, @emilysstarr on Twitter and www.facebook.com/emilystarr) PHOTOGRAPHER: Kelly Dillon Photography (www.kellydillonphoto.com)  

VENUE: Elm Bank (Mass Horticultural Society) (www.masshort.org) FURNITURE + RENTALS: New England Country Rentals (www.newenglandcountryrentals.com) FLORIST: Tangerine Creations (www.tangerinecreations.com) TENT AND LIGHTING: Jack Falvey Associates (www.jackfalveyassociates.com) RENTALS: Peterson Party Center (www.ppcinc.com) LINENS: Table Toppers of Newton (www.ttnewton.com) FASHION STYLIST AND BRIDE: Noelani Zervas of Mon Petit Chou Chou (www.mpchouchou.com) HAIR STYLING: Missy Pappas of Sylvestre Franc Salon (www.sylvestrefranc.com) MAKEUP ARTIST:  Zoe Markos of zoelovesmakeup.com (www.zoelovesmakeup.com) BRIDESMAIDS: Michele of Michele’s Musings (michelemuses.blogspot.com)  and Kristen of The Boston Fashionista (www.thebostonfashionista.com) CLOTHING:  Bloomingdales (www.bloomingdales.com)  and Michael DePaulo (www.michaeldepaulo.com) BRIDAL SASHES: VenustBridal (www.etsy.com/shop/VenustBridal) HEADBANDS: Untamed Petals (www.untamedpetals.com) WEDDING RINGS: Laura Preshong (www.laurapreshong.com) INVITATION: Toby Dondis Ltd. (www.tobydondis.com) CALLIGRAPHY: Jan Boyd Calligraphy (www.janboyd.com) FRENCH MACARONS: c. crowell fine confections (www.ccrowells.com) FAVORS: Iris Estell lavender honey caramels (www.etsy.com/shop/imestell)